Southeast Music Library Association

Annual Meeting
October 10-12, 2002

fireworks PROGRAM       fireworks

Thursday, October 10
LSU Faculty Club

6:00pm Registration and opening reception
Sponsored by the Music Library Service Company (MLSC) MLSC

Friday, October 11
Hill Memorial Library Lecture Hall

8:30 am Registration
Coffee will be provided. Breakfast is served free in the hotel.
9:00 am Welcome and opening remarks
Jennifer Cargill, Dean of Libraries, LSU Libraries
Sara Lynn Baird, Associate Dean, College of Music and Dramatic Arts, LSU
9:15 am Zydeco: The Term and the Tradition
Barry Jean Ancelet, Professor of French and Folklore, University of Louisiana, Lafayette
10:00am Coffee Break and Tour of the Pauline Blanche Mulhall Carter Music Resources Center
11:00am Performance Applications of the Music Library
Timothy Muffitt, Music Director, Baton Rouge Symphony Orchestra
11:45am Lunch (on your own)
***A list of local restaurants within walking distance can be found HERE. This list will also be included in your registration package.
1:30 pm Toward a Taxonomy of Sound Diffusion: the performance practice of electroacoustic music.
Dr. Stephen David Beck, Professor of Composition and Electro-Acoustic Music, LSU
2:30 pm Electronic Databases, Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature (CHMTL)
Dr. Andreas Giger, Assistant Professor of Musicology, LSU
3:00 pm Break
3:30 Music as an Economic Force
Jim Bateman, President, Real Records Inc., President, Break of Dawn Music, Inc., Partner, BMR Management

A Special Surprise! (The Benjy Davis Project, managed by Jim Bateman, will perform!)
6:30 pm Leave for banquet at Boutin's Restaurant

Saturday, October 12
Courtyard Marriott, Meeting Room B

8:30am Coffee available.
9:00am Online Tutorials
Margaret Kaus, University of Tennessee
9:45am Information Literacy Panel Discussion
11:15amBusiness Meeting
4:30pmLeave for the Saturday Afternoon Swamp Tour!

Local Arrangements Committee:

Lois J. Kuyper-Rushing, Chair
Mikel Ledee
Glenn Walden
Aaron Johnson

Program Committee:

Rashidah Z. Hakeem, Chair
Margaret Miller
Lee Richardson
Lois Kuyper-Rushing

Main Conference Page